A New Chapter

Life really does play out in chapters….

Washington Weather

2 Comments


Before I moved to Washington I had no idea what the weather was going to be like so I started asking around to see what kind of experiences people had while they visited the place. A few people said they came up during the summer months for a few weeks to go camping and hiking and they said the weather was up and down but mostly nice. You could just wear a light jacket and be fine no matter where you went. They made the place sound amazing I really do their story no justice.

Another person told me that I should think about buying a better car something like a truck just so I could survive the winter since I was going to be moving not just visiting. So be this point I had very conflicting stories. I got a pretty straight answer from my schools councilor she said that she almost moved up her but she had to convince her husband by tricking him into visiting the place every summer, this worked out for them since they were teachers but not all summers here are wonderful and he got a taste of what Washington was all about when he came even in the summer it was cold and rainy. She told me simply when it is nice, it is realty nice, when it is bad, it’s pretty bad. So again good incite but still I felt conflicted.

So I was anticipating thunder storms, lighting, snow, sleet and hail by the time I was moving up here but I was pleasantly surprised when I got here and realized that it was beautiful. I arrived in July so I was lucky I didn’t get here in the middle of winter or something. But when I got here it was slightly misting and the sky was overcast.  I was in love…I came out of California where it was 90 and up and constantly baking you. The only relief was to sit in front of the air conditioner. Even when you took a shower just to cool off you were sweating after you got out, before you even got dressed.

Once I got here people started asking me “So how do you like the weather so far?” and I think it shocked them when I would tell them that I loved it!  I have had enough sun to last me a lifetime I don’t mine going outside and it is overcast so I am not blinded the second I walk out of the house every morning. I also don’t mind it being in the 50’s most days because it is much easier to get relief from the cold by wearing appropriate clothes. Once you acclimated to the weather you can just wear a hoodie and jeans and be just fine.  Try to acclimate to the weather when it is 95 outside… I don’t care if your naked it’s still hot. As soon as you go into a nice air condition building and you have to walk back outside you get that nice wave of suffocating heat to great you at the door every time.

I think it is just wonderful here because you actually get to enjoy all of the seasons.  It is a little bipolar though it can be raining while the sun is out.

Its raining with beautiful blue skies

Washington has different weather all over but I am in Western Washington I am close to the coast so when it is a nice 75 degrees outside I can head down to the beach which is littered with shells for us me and my daughter to collect and really cool rocks it is just a good time every time we go …..

Howarth Park

Howarth Park

We can head Down to the city and make a day of it. Seattle is amazing it is the greenest city I’ve ever seen. and it seems like there is always something going on always something to do we went down there one day just to check out the sites and see what the city was like and we stumbled upon a festival and had a great time.

Seattle Center

Seattle Center

In the winter time we can enjoy the colder weather and still have fun. it is easy to get warm when you are cold just put a jacket on or sit in front of the fire and defrost, or you can just drink coffee like everyone else up here it is there one weakness everything in Washington would come to a screeching halt if someone came in and took away there coffee. There is a coffee house on nearly every corner here so you wont have to worry about staying warm. Oh and there are plenty of baristas coffee shops out there for all the guys

Halie building a snow man on the first snowy day

Fishing lake at Jennings Park

My Snow Covered Driveway

My back porch riddled with huge icicles

So it turns out all the rumors I heard were just that rumors because I see nothing wrong with the weather up here… I love it 🙂

Author: Sharine

24 years old ~ Technical Designer @Boeing

2 thoughts on “Washington Weather

  1. Welcome to WA! Give yourself a couple of years to see how 9 months of each year in overcast skies and rain feel. 😉

Comments Are Welcome

