A New Chapter

Life really does play out in chapters….

Damn them Catchy Tunes

Leave a comment


I haven’t really listen to the radio in a while because I always hate when they play a song you really like 10,000 times so you no longer want to hear it and hate the song.

Thanks to all the years I did listen to the radio and YouTube I have a nice little collection of music that I like but I am always looking to expand my collection. I like lots of genres of music and I am open to anything that has a good beat and relatable lyrics.

Although I have been sucked into the trends and have found myself listening to stuff that I swore to myself I would never listen to. Now don’t the wrong idea about me I don’t just listen to what ever is on the top charts because I have been recently disappointed in all humanity for what they have decided is going to be the top charts.

The amount of views on these things astonishes me, you couldn’t get that many people to click on anything unless you were paying them for it.

I realized I hit a pretty far low when I found myself looking up Katy Perry on YouTube, because my style music is mostly alternative rock, classic rock, and a few slow R&B songs. Usually I never get into the teeny bopper pop stuff, but for some reason on YouTube I see all these millions of people are watching this so I had to give it a try. I ended up liking a few of her songs like Firework, Thinking of You, The One That Got Away, and recently Wide Awake. But was I liking these songs because this the kind of music I really liked or was it because it was ridiculously catchy and get stuck in your head for days. I am not really that into the whole Dub-step era that is going around most of it sounds like robots dying in the background. We deal with what we have though right.

I know I am not the only one that has had this problem……

Your driving to work and you hear a song on the radio you tell yourself, “what a stupid song, who would listen to that…. it does not even make sense…”
Not even a few hours later you’re sitting at your desk, or walking down a hall, or stuck in an elevator alone. And guess what you’re humming…. that ridiculous damn song that you heard that morning on the radio.
You remembering hearing some urban legend that says if you listen to the song it will no longer be stuck in your head… sounds legit.
Guess what now you’ve got the damn thing on repeat and its been added to your playlist you only play when you’re in that weird mood.

If that never happened to you you’re in denial and you have a hidden playlist somewhere filled with Britney Spears, Justin Bieber, and Miley Cyrus…. I have never stooped that low and I never will. I don’t care how catchy everyone else thinks that is that is just not for me. Another example of the horrible taste of America’s music is Nicki Minaj, who in their right mind is walking around singing about bees in a trap??? Furthermore I don’t know how they ever made it on the top charts anyways. I will stop ranting about the embarrassing teeny boppers of my generation. I am sure there are some adults that hold an old song of Brittney spears or tried to listen to J-Bebs but you know what… that is an avenue I will never go down.

Anyways here are some songs that I thought I would never like until I found myself humming them….

Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks

Maroon 5 – Payphone & Moves Like Jagger & She Will Be Loved

Coldplay – Paradise

Bruno Mars – Lighters [ Solo Version ] (only his part gets stuck in your head anyways right … admit it)

LMFAO – Sexy and I Know It (just because if you watch the video it become pretty memorable.)

Author: Sharine

24 years old ~ Technical Designer @Boeing

Comments Are Welcome

