A New Chapter

Life really does play out in chapters….

They Call That Entertainment????

Leave a comment


The film industry has really gone to shit in the last few years, which is really disappointing since the special effects has gotten better you would think that the movie makers would really get to express their true imagination. I guess there are a few exceptions to my previous statement there are some breath taking scenes in some of the newer movies that took advantage of digital art. For example Avatar,  it was an ok movie I can’t stay it was horrible but the special effects were really good and if it was not for all the computer animated scenes in that movie it really would have been horrible. Or Transformers, I am usually not to fond of “remake” movies that have been done before and they feel they can improve on them with the digital technology we have now. But Transformers was a pretty good one, the special effects were good, story has been done a thousand times though…. the worlds in danger of being destroyed / taken over, and only one person can save us all. Highly played out but still nicely portrayed in that movie.

Older movies had a lot of potential because that was back the day where directors couldn’t rely on flashy lights and computers generated images to keep people entertained they really had to come up with something no one has ever done before, and tell the audience a story that they will never forget, a story that makes them think twice, a story people could relate to, or a story that made your heart melt.

Nowadays you are lucky to find a comedy movie that makes you laugh or a horror movie that makes you jump. All the scary movies are not scary any more just creepy and disgusting. Gore in a film does not make it horrifying it just makes it gross and we know it is far from real when someone barley hits their head on the counter and become decapitated and blood squirts 35 feet away from the body. If you are going to make a movie full of gore then at least have the decency to make it realistic.

Don’t get me wrong there have been a few creepy movies that were pretty good like “The Devil Inside”, very creepy I think there was even one point where I jumped once. It is movies like “The Human Centipede” (there is even a sequel to this horrifying, not horrifying in a good way, movie “The Human Centipede 2”) that really make me angry you just wasted and hour and half of your life that you will never get back watching some guy be disgusting with his deepest darkest thoughts. eeewww

One of the more dark directors/producers that actually know how to take his imagination and put in on the big screen… Tim Burton. I think that anyone can agree that even if you don’t like them all there is at least one Tim Burton film that you or your children love. He portrays a darker world view on things but it is not so far out there that it makes you uncomfortable to watch. I mean honestly I felt dirty after watching “The Human Centipede” at least Tim Burton’s idea of dark will still make you laugh along the way. Who has not seen:

 “Corpse Bride”

“James and the Giant Peach”

“The Nightmare before Christmas”

“Batman Returns”

“Edward Scissorhands”

“Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”

“Sleepy Hallow”

“Beetlejuice”

All these movies were great movies that you could watch again and again, share them with friends and family, and save them in a collection for your kids (or maybe just your collection).

There are some good comedies but not many they keep trying to make really lame movies that have the same dick and fart jokes as the last one. I like very blunt humor when someone says what everyone else is thinking. But one thing I do not like is the punch line humor / slap stick whatever you want to call it, so the TV shows that have the fake canned laughter in background every time they say something remotely funny. Shows like Arrested Development or Community  are funny. Or if you want something more serious shows like Breaking Bad are great very suspenseful and you never know what I going to happen. Or you can always go for an oldie but goodie like Law and Order SVU.

There are very few good TV shows on any more either. I know a lot of people like this show by honestly who can really sit through an episode of Glee, When I get home from work I don’t really want to sit through an entire episode of singing, dancing, idiots, and though I have never watched a full show (only saw the TV commercials) how good can the story line be for a weekly TV show musical…honestly just the category it is in…. NUF SAID. I didn’t enjoy the commercials for High School Musical and that was only 20 seconds long I highly doubt I would enjoy 30 min of it in a glee episode.

I’m sure someone will try to read this and try to convince me of all the things I am missing on Glee and what a great show it really is and how everyone gives it a bad rap because the burst out into spontaneous song and dance throughout the show. And for that person I say this…. Can you honestly say that you can explain the plot from glee without sounding like a person trying to explain the details from the show Lost.

Seriously?!?!?!?

The show lost was so complex they had to have break through episodes to explain what is going on and why, as well as have bubbles pop up in some episodes with a side not letting the audience know what is happening. If you must have a caption under every scene explaining what they are doing and why as well as the history of blah blah blah…. Then it is not that good of a show to begin with. I am not saying all people are idiots and can’t follow along with a complex story line but I don’t want to give myself a migraine just trying to figure out a TV show. I also don’t want to have to purchase the guide to understanding lost book just so I can follow along with the show. I am dedicating 30-60 min of my life just so that I can watch this show that is all dedication I have to donate to a show.

Author: Sharine

Stay at home mom of three learning how be...

Comments Are Welcome